ATTORNEY RACHEL WALKER AL-YASI

Phone Icon (505) 445-6698

Follow Us On Facebook Icon

Review Us On Google 

Monday - Friday,
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday - Sunday, Hours by Appointment Only

Impaired Driving, Albuquerque, NM


DWI Attorney in Albuquerque, NM

Impaired driving is one of the most prosecuted crimes in New Mexico. Don't let your charge turn into a conviction. If you're facing a DWI charge it's critical that you speak with an experienced DWI attorney in Albuquerque, NM, immediately. Trying to resolve your case alone can be extremely challenging and may even do more harm than good.

Fight your case with the help of an experienced attorney. Attorney Rachel Walker Al-Yasi can handle the evidence of your DWI case to build a robust DWI defense. Call today to schedule a free consultation.


DWI Laws In New Mexico

Impaired driving is a general term. A DWI offense is committed by a driver who operated a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or narcotics.

The Legal Limit

In New Mexico, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for adults is 0.08%. If you're under the age of 21, the BAC limit is 0.02%. Drivers of commercial vehicles are limited to a BAC level of 0.04%. However, even if your BAC level is below the legal limit, you can still be convicted of a DWI if the prosecutor can prove drugs or alcohol impaired your ability to drive. Luckily, hiring an experienced attorney can help you avoid a criminal conviction and harsh penalties.

Penalties for a DWI In New Mexico

The penalties for a DWI in New Mexico depend on the circumstances of the arrest. Furthermore, the severity of punishment escalates on repeat offenses.

DWI Attorney in Albuquerque, NM
  • 1st Offense — A first-time DWI offender faces up to $500 in criminal fines, a 90-day jail sentence, and license revocation for a minimum of six months and a maximum one year. A conviction may also result in mandatory enrollment in traffic school, 24 hours of community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) with its associated costs.
  • 2nd Offense — Second-time offenders risk having their license suspended for two years, mandatory enrollment in traffic school, 48 hours of community service, and an IID installment for two years. A conviction may also result in a maximum sentence of one year in jail, a criminal fine up to $1,000, and up to five years' probation.
  • 3rd Offense — Third-time DWI offenders are subject to a minimum of 30 days in jail and a maximum sentence of one year. Offenders may also face a three-year license revocation and a criminal fine ranging from $750 to $1,000. Additional punishments include mandatory traffic school, IID installment for three years, 96 hours of community service, and up to five years' probation.
  • 4th Offense — Fourth and subsequent offenses are considered felony charges with enhanced penalties. For starters, you face 6-18 months in possible jail time, up to $5,000 in criminal fines, and permanent license revocation or IID installment.